Tuesday 20 October 2020

BJP ranks reshuffled: Ram Madhav no longer GS, Tejasvi Surya promoted

This is the first reshuffle of BJP office bearers under JP Nadda who was elected unopposed as party chief in January, replacing Amit Shah who had his hands full with the responsibilities of the Ministry of Home Affairs

The BJP today announced the replacement of senior leaders Ram Madhav, P Muralidhar Rao, Anil Jain, Saroj Pandey as general secretaries and brought in new faces, allocating new offices to party functionaries. Tejasvi Surya, an MP from Karnataka, featured among the prominent changes as president of the youth wing Yuva Morcha, replacing Poonam Mahajan.

The BJP increased the number of national spokespersons to 23. MP Anil Baluni retains the position of media in-charge and is now elevated as chief spokesperson, much as he is hardly seen on television.

The new spokespersons are Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Sanju Verma, Iqbal Singh Lalpura, Aparajita Sarangi, Heena Gavit, M Kikon, Nupur Sharma, Raju Bisht and KK Sharma.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi welcomed the changes on Twitter. “Congratulations and best wishes to the new team. I am confident they will uphold the glorious tradition of our Party of serving the people of India selflessly and with dedication. May they work hard to empower the poor and marginalised,” he wrote.

BJP President JP Nadda announced the new appointments in the reorganisation exercise. Party sources said the idea was to combine young people, women and experienced faces.

This is the first reshuffle under Nadda who was elected unopposed as party chief in January, taking over from Amit Shah.

Radha Mohan Singh, Mukul Roy, Rekha Verma, Annapurna Devi, Bharti Shiyal, DK Aruna, M Chuba Ao and AP Abdullakutty are now national vice presidents of the BJP.

Dushyant Kumar Gautam, D Purandeswari, CT Ravi and Tarun Chugh are among the new general secretaries.

Other appointments include K Laxman as head of the OBC (Other Backward Classes) Morcha, Jamal Siddiqui as chief of the minority wing and Lal Singh Arya as chief of the SC (Scheduled Castes) Morcha.

Ram Madhav reacted to the new appointments on Twitter, saying, “Congratulations to the newly appointed office-bearers of d BJP. Grateful to d party leadership for providing me d opportunity to serve for one term as Gen Sec.”

You may be interested in...