Home India Elections BJP may give 15 seats to Nishad Party, 18-20 to Apna Dal...

BJP may give 15 seats to Nishad Party, 18-20 to Apna Dal in UP

This was decided after BJP chief JP Nadda announced that Apna Dal and Nishad Party would contest as allies of his party in the Uttar Pradesh assembly election

BJP may give 15 seats to Nishad Party, 18-20 to Apna Dal in UP

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will give 15 seats to Nishad Party and 18-20 to for contesting for elections to the 403-seat strong Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha. Earlier, Nishad party president Sanjay Nishad had said: “We have got 15 seats (out of 403 seats) to contest in alliance with the BJP. The seats are almost final. Most of the seats are in ‘Purvanchal’ (East UP) and some are in ‘Paschimanchal’ (West).”

“There are some seats that we want to change due to changing equations. We are focusing not only on seats but also jeet’ (victory),” Nishad said.

Early in the day, president JP Nadda announced, “BJP, and Nishad Party will jointly contest polls on 403 seats in the upcoming Uttar Pradesh assembly election.” Apna Dal chief Anupriya Patel and Nishad Party chief Sanjay Nishad flanked him at the press conference.

Nadda told reporters that a mafia used to be active in Uttar Pradesh in nexus with previous governments earlier. “Now, there is a rule of law in the state,” the president said.

“Under BJP’s ‘double-engine’ government, Uttar Pradesh has become a destination for investment. The state is doing well on social indicators,” Nadda said.

The Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal, or Nishad party, was formed in 2016 and its leaders claim to enjoy the support of the Nishad community, which is one of the Other Backward Classes (OBC).

Twelve candidates from Apna Dal (S) had contested the 2017 polls in alliance with on 12 seats, of which they won nine. Last week, two MLAs — RK Verma from Vishwanathganj seat and Chaudhary Amar Singh from Shohratganj — quit the party.

In the 2017 assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, the and its alliance partners had won 325 seats.

The today released a list of 30-star campaigners for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2022. Among the prominent names are Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, party president JP Nadda, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and BJP candidate from Gorakhpur Yogi Adityanath, Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and state president Swatantra Dev Singh.

Union Ministers Dharmendra Pradhan, Smriti Irani, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dinesh Sharma and Keshav Prasad Maurya made it to the list too.

Voting will be held in Uttar Pradesh in seven phases on 10, 14, 20, 23, 27 February and 3 and 7 March.


Support pro-India journalism