16.7 C
New Delhi
Thursday 23 January 2020

BJP announces by-election candidates

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) here on Monday announced the names of its candidates for the upcoming by-election of the Lok Sabha and Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar.

For the two important seats Gorakhpur and Phulpur, it has fielded Upendra Shukla and Kaushalendra Singh respectively. While Pradeep Singh is fielded from  Araria parliamentary constituency in Bihar and Rinki Pandey from Bhabua Assembly constituency in Bihar.

Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha constituencies were vacated by Chief Minister Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya respectively after they became members of the UP Legislative Council. For the BJP, Gorakhpur is really important as it is the bastion of Adityanath, who has represented it in Lok Sabha five times. Prior to Adityanath, Gorakhpur was thrice represented in the Parliament by his mentor Avaidyanath.

On the other hand, Phulpur was once the bastion of the Congress and represented by first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. It had for the first time witnessed a saffron surge in 2014 Lok Sabha elections when Maurya emerged victorious.

Meanwhile, the Congress and Samajwadi Party (SP) has decided to go separate ways in the by-poll for two Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh. It may be brightened the BJP’s prospects of retaining these seats as opposition votes will split with both the SP and the Congress in the fray.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) has already declared its support for Praveen Kumar Nishad, for the by-election to the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat. Praveen Kumar Nishad, who belongs to the Nishad Party, would contest on SP poll symbol – the bicycle. However, the party is yet to declare its candidate for the Phulpur Lok Sabha seat.

Earlier, after deciding to go alone, the Congress, on 16 February, had declared its candidates for the parliamentary by-elections in Uttar Pradesh. Dr Sureetha is its candidate for the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha by-poll, and local leader Manish Mishra will contest from the Phulpur parliamentary seat.

Voting for the Lok Sabha by-elections will be held on 11 March, while counting of votes will be held on 14 March.

Amit Kumar
Amit Kumar
This consulting editor of Sirf News is a senior journalist with more than 20 years of experience in reporting and editing, has worked with Hindusthan Samachar (news agency), Mail Today, Hindustan Times, Mid-Day, etc

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Pandits: 30 Years Since Being Ripped Apart

Pandits say, and rightly so, that their return to Kashmir cannot be pushed without ensuring a homeland for the Islam-ravaged community for conservation of their culture

Fear-Mongering In The Times Of CAA

No one lived in this country with so much fear before,” asserted a friend while dealing with India's newly amended citizenship...

CAA: Never Let A Good Crisis Go To Waste

So said Winston Churchill, a lesson for sure for Prime Miniter Narendra Modi who will use the opposition's calumny over CAA to his advantage

Archbishop Of Bangalore Spreading Canards About CAA

The letter of Archbishop Peter Machado to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, published in The Indian Express, is ridden with factual inaccuracies

Sabarimala: Why Even 7 Judges Weren’t Deemed Enough

For an answer, the reader will have to go through a history of cases similar to the Sabarimala dispute heard in the Supreme Court

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: