12.9 C
New Delhi
Thursday 23 January 2020

Bihar: 17 BJP candidates including 4 Union ministers in NDA list

Here is NDA’s final list of candidates for Lok Sabha seats in Bihar: 39 in all, including 17 of BJP; LJP to get one more

Patna: The NDA in Bihar has announced the names of its candidates. Names of 39 candidates have been announced, which includes 17 BJP candidates. The list has the names of four ministers of the Union government who will be in the electoral fray. They are Agriculture and Farmer Welfare Minister Radha Mohan Singh, Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises State Minister Giriraj Singh and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP had fielded candidates in 30 seats out of which it won 22. The LJP had fielded candidates in 7 seats, of which they had won on 6.

The RLSP used to be part of the NDA during the 2014 elections. It had fielded candidates for three seats and won all three.

In the last general election, the JD(U) had snapped its ties with the NDA. Nitish Kumar’s party had fielded 38 candidates but won only two seats.

That pathetic conversion record notwithstanding the JD(U) has managed to grab 17 seats from the negotiations with the BJP and other NDA allies. In fact, throughout the 17 years up to 2013 when the BJP and JD(U) were together, the larger party mostly agreed to spare more seats for its smaller ally despite its poor conversion rate.

39 NDA candidates for Bihar announced

Champaran West: Dr Sanjay Jaiswal

Champaran East: Radha Mohan Singh

Shivar: Rama Devi

Madhubani: Ashok Kumar Yadav

Araria: Pradeep Singh

Darbhanga: Gopal Thakur

Muzaffarpur: Ajay Nishad

Maharajganj: Janardan Singh Sigirwal

Saran: Rajiv Pratap Rudy

Ujiyarpur: Nityanand Rai

Begusarai: Giriraj Singh

Patna Sahib: Ravi Shankar Prasad

Pataliputra: Ramkripal Yadav

Arrah: Rajkumar Singh

Buxar: Ashwini Kumar Choubey

Sasaram: Chhedi Paswan

Aurangabad” Sushil Kumar Singh

40 seats in Bihar, 7 phases of voting

11 April: Jamui Aurangabad, Gaya, Nawada,

18 April: Banka, Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur

23 April: Khagaria, Jhanjharpur, Supaul, Araria, Madhepura,

29 April: Darbhanga, Ujayarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai, Munger

6 May: Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Hajipur, Sitamarhi,

12 May: Eastern Champaran, Western Champaran, Shivar, Vaishali, Gopalganj, Sivan, Maharajganj, Valmiki Nagar

19 May: Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Ara, Buxar, Sasaram, Karakat, Jahanabad

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Pandits: 30 Years Since Being Ripped Apart

Pandits say, and rightly so, that their return to Kashmir cannot be pushed without ensuring a homeland for the Islam-ravaged community for conservation of their culture

Fear-Mongering In The Times Of CAA

No one lived in this country with so much fear before,” asserted a friend while dealing with India's newly amended citizenship...

CAA: Never Let A Good Crisis Go To Waste

So said Winston Churchill, a lesson for sure for Prime Miniter Narendra Modi who will use the opposition's calumny over CAA to his advantage

Archbishop Of Bangalore Spreading Canards About CAA

The letter of Archbishop Peter Machado to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, published in The Indian Express, is ridden with factual inaccuracies

Sabarimala: Why Even 7 Judges Weren’t Deemed Enough

For an answer, the reader will have to go through a history of cases similar to the Sabarimala dispute heard in the Supreme Court

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: