Friday 24 September 2021
- Advertisement -
HomeIndiaElectionsBengal Election 2021: List of key candidates in Phase 1

Bengal Election 2021: List of key candidates in Phase 1

Bengal Polls Phase 1: Several opinion polls have predicted a tight contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party and the ruling Trinamool Congress

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and ruling All India Trinamool Congress (AITC), headed by Chief Mamata Banerjee, are spearheading an intense election campaign in West Bengal. The third alliance that is in the fray is led by Indian National Congress (INC). The has signed an electoral pact with the Left in the eastern state.

Several opinion polls have predicted a tight contest between the BJP and AITC. In the previous assembly election held in 2016, the BJP had won just three seats while the AITC pocketed 211. The won 44 seats and the CPI(M) settled with 26 seats.

The AITC headed by two-time Chief Mamata Banerjee is striving hard to score a hat-trick. The BJP is leaving no stone unturned to make sure blooms in the state. The third front has the CPI(M) and entering into a seat-sharing arrangement, and this combine is also trying to align with the ISF.

This time, polling will take place in eight phases with the first one scheduled for 27 March, covering 30 seats.

Key candidates in the Phase 1 of Bengal Polls 2021

Purulia: Sujoy Banerjee (AITC) vs Sudip Mukherjee (BJP) vs Partha Prathim Banerjee (Congress)

Medinipur: June Malia (AITC) vs Shamit Dash (BJP) vs Tarun Kumar Ghosh (CPIM)

Kharagpur: Dinen Ray (AITC) vs Tapan Bhuiya (BJP) vs Sk. Saddam Ali (CPIM)

Kanthi Uttar: Tarun Kumar Jana (AITC) vs Sunita Singha (BJP) vs Sutanu Maity (CPIM)

Kanthi Dakshin: Jyotirmoy Kar (AITC) vs Arup Kumar Das (BJP) vs Anulup Panda (CPIM)

Baghmundi: Sushanta Mahato (AITC) vs Mahato (AJSU) vs Nepal Mahata (Congress)

There are a total of 294 assembly seats that will be going to polls, of which 68 are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 16 for the Scheduled Tribes. In the eight-phase Assembly polls, the voting is likely to start at 8 AM and end at 6 PM.

The West Bengal Legistive Assembly comprises 294 seats and the halfway mark is 174. Polling in the remaining seven phases will take place on 1 April, 6 April, 10 April, 17 April, 22 April, 26 April and 29 April. Results will be declared on 2 May. 

To serve the nation better through journalism, Sirf News needs to increase the volume of news and views, for which we must recruit many journalists, pay news agencies and make a dedicated server host this website — to mention the most visible costs. Please contribute to preserve and promote our civilisation by donating generously:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Air Marshal Sandeep Singh has been appointed as the next Vice Chief of the Indian Air Force. He will be succeeding Air Marshal VR Chaudhari who will take over as Chief of Air Staff on September 30

माझ्या दक्षिण-पश्चिम नागपूर विधानसभा मतदारसंघातील विविध बुथप्रमुखांच्या घरी भेटी देत आहे. आज सकाळपासून घाट रोड, शनिवारी या भागात बुथप्रमुखांच्या घरी भेटी सुरू आहेत. आपण सर्व देत असलेल्या प्रतिसादाबद्दल आभारी आहे.
@BJP4Maharashtra @BJP4Nagpur


#Bihar: After a series of cases where poor villagers have received crores of rupees in their bank accounts, a daily wager learnt that he was having Rs 9.99cr in Union Bank of India, Supaul branch. Interestingly, Vipin Chauhan claims that he never opened an account in any bank.

Speaking at the India Investor Summit, Hon. MoS @Rajeev_GoI spoke about Hon. Prime Minister Shri @narendramodi ji’s #DigitalIndia vision of achieving 1 Trillion digital economy, investments, jobs and to provide open, safe & trusted, accountable Internet to one and all.

Read further:
- Advertisment -

Popular since 2014