Elections, related schedules for 5 States announced


New Delhi: The Election Commission of India on Wednesday announced the dates of elections to the 690 Assembly constituencies of 5 States: Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh. The elections will begin on 4 February and the results will be declared on 11 March.

electionsGoa and Punjab will elect its Members of Legislative Assemblies on 4 February while the people of Uttarakhand will cast their votes on 15 February.

There will be 2 phases of elections in Manipur: 4 and 8 March. Uttar Pradesh with the Assembly of 403 seats will have 7 phases of polling: 73 seats on 11 February, 67 seats on 15 February, 69 on 19 February, 53 on 23rd of the month, 52 on the 27th, 49 on 4 March and 40 on 8 March.

About 16 crore voters will cast their votes in these elections, with each voter having an identity card and a coloured voter slip. The elections will be held across 85,000 polling stations. All relevant information about an elector’s requirements and rules will be disseminated through posters pasted outside every polling booth. At every booth, guides will help voters who need directions.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi has said that these elections will see unprecedented security arrangements. The cabin where one votes is now made of a 30-inch high steel wall. The electronic voting machines (EVMs) will carry the photograph of every candidate contesting from a given constituency against his party’s name and election symbol.

There will be separate arrangements for disabled voters.

The tenures of the Vidhan Sabhas of Goa, Manipur and Punjab are ending on 18 March while that of the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly (LA) will end on 26 March. Uttar Pradesh LA’s tenure ends the next day.

The model code of conduct is now in vogue in all the 5 States.

The following are the schedules for candidates in their respective States. [stextbox id=”info” caption=”Election schedule”]


State Phase Date of notification Last date for submitting nominations Date of scrutiny Last date for withdrawal of nominations
Uttar Pradesh 11 February 17 January 24 February 25 January 27 January
15 February 20 February 27 February 28 January 30 January
19 February 24 January 31 January 2 February 4 February
23 February 31 January 6 February 7 February 9 February
27 February 2 February 9 February 11 February 13 February
4 March 8 February 15 February 16 February 18 February
8 March 11 February 18 February 20 February 22 February
Punjab 4 February 11 January 18 January 19 January 21 January
Goa — do — — do — — do — — do — — do —
Manipur 4 March 8 February 15 February 16 February 18 February
8 March
Uttarakhand 15 February 20 January 27 January 28 January 30 January