Saturday 19 June 2021
- Advertisement -

Assembly election results 2021: From Mamata to Stalin, know the top 10 candidates to watch out for

Suvendu Adhikari contested against Mamata Banerjee for the Nandigram seat in the West Bengal Assembly election and seems to have done well

The counting of votes began on Sunday (2 May) morning for the high-stakes assembly polls in four states- Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, and the union territory of Puducherry. Take a look at the visuals from the states and UT in which the counting is being conducted.

Check the list of top candidates to watch out for today:

Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal)

The Trinamool Congress has been in power in the state since 2011. Bengal Chief Minister and AITC Chief Mamata Banerjee contested for the seat in the Nandigram constituency.

Suvendu Adhikari (West Bengal)

West Bengal has the highest 294 seats and saw a fierce contest between the ruling Trinamool Congress and BJP across eight phases. BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari contested against Mamata Banerjee for the Nandigram seat in the West Bengal Assembly election and seems to have done well as far as the initial trends show. He was leading by a huge margin early in the morning, a margin that has greatly reduced now.

MK Stalin (Tamil Nadu)

Contesting from Kolathur yet again, the DMK Chief and former Chief Minister M Karunanidhi’s son looks in a comfortable position to retain his seat. He has previously held the position of Deputy Chief Minister of the state from 2009 to 2011.

Edappadi Palaniswami (Tamil Nadu)

A four-time legislator from Edappadi constituency, Palaniswami took the reins of the state in 2017 after the death of former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa. He replaced O Panneerselvam who had resigned from the post.

N Rangasamy (Puducherry)

From NDA’s camp, AINRC Chief N Rangasamy is contesting from Thattanchavady in Puducherry

P Selvanadane (Puducherry)

Among the key candidates of the Indian National Congress (INC), P Selvanadane contested from Kardirgamam assembly seat in Puducherry.

Pinarayi Vijayan (Kerala)

Pinarayi Vijayan achieved a massive victory in local body polls. Vijayan assumed his office in 2016 and since then he is going strong. If exit polls are considered, he is all set to come in power once again.

Kummanam Rajasekharan (Kerala)

Rajasekharan is a BJP candidate from the state. He has worked as the former governor of Mizoram. He was Party President from 2015-2018. Rajasekharan contested elections from Nemom, Thiruvananthpuram. BJP in the previous elections had managed to win a seat from this constituency.

Sarbananda Sonowal (Assam)

Incumbent Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal contested from Majuli, an ST reserved constituency against INC’s Rajib Lochan Pegu.

Ripun Bora (Assam)

Congress Assam Pradesh chief Ripun Bora contested from Gohpur constituency. The BJP fielded Utpal Borah against him.

Publishing partner: Uprising

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of news stories. Please help us pay them by donating. Click on the button below to contribute.

Sirf News is now on Telegram as well. Click on the button below to join our channel (@sirfnewsdotcom) and stay updated with our unique approach to news

Chat with the editor via Messenger

Related Articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: