Monday 17 January 2022
- Advertisement -

Ashwin may be adjudged ICC Test Cricketer of the Year

Experienced and reliable Indian cricketer and off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was today shortlisted as one of the four nominees for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award. The 35-year-old from Chennai snapped 52 wickets from eight Tests at an average of 16.23 and also contributed 337 runs with the bat at 28.08 with one century in the last year.

Besides Ashwin, England skipper Joe Root, New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson and Sri Lanka opener Dimuth Karunaratne have been nominated for the prestigious award, which recognises the outstanding achievements and feats in cricket over the past year.

The winner of the award will be announced on 24 January.

“One of India’s greatest match-winners in the longest format, R Ashwin again asserted his authority as one of the world’s finest spinners in 2021. Apart from his wizardry with the ball, Ashwin also made invaluable contributions with the bat,” the ICC said in a release.

Ashwin started the year on a high, scoring a patient 128-ball 29 against Australia in the Sydney Test. His partnership with Hanuma Vihari helped India achieve a memorable draw that kept the series level at 1-1.

At home against England, the ICC adjudged Ashwin the Player of the Series after he claimed 32 wickets from four matches at 14.72 while he contributed 189 runs with the bat too.

The off-spinner had also picked up four wickets in the ICC World Championship Final against New Zealand on a seam-friendly wicket in Southampton.

After sitting out of all four Tests in England, Ashwin shone in the home series against New Zealand, winning another Player of the Series award after picking up 14 wickets in two matches at 11.36 while also chipping in with a couple of handy knocks in the Test.

The ICC Awards will comprise a total of 13 individual recognitions in all, as well as five Team of the Year announcements for each format across both men’s and women’s cricket.

The other individual categories are

  • Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for men’s Cricketer of the Year
  • Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for Women’s Cricketer of the Year
  • Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year
  • Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year
  • Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year
  • Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year
  • Emerging men’s Cricketer of the Year
  • Emerging women’s Cricketer of the Year
  • Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year
  • Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year and
  • Spirit of Cricket Award and Umpire of the Year

“The nominees for each of the first seven categories will be announced from 28 December to 31 December,” ICC said.

“Each of those seven categories will have a shortlist of four nominees, comprising players who have had the most impactful performances in the period under consideration — 1 January to 31 December.

“The nominees will be decided by the Awards panel, comprising prominent cricket journalists and broadcasters from across the globe along with Geoff Allardice, the ICC’s CEO.”

The apex body said that “the winners for each category will be announced in January”, while “the official ICC Teams of the Year are set to be announced on 17 and 18 January.”

“The individual awards pertaining to women’s cricket will be announced on 23 January. The men’s awards, as well as the Spirit of Cricket and Umpire of the Year award, will be announced on 24 January,” it further stated.

Get in Touch

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Articles


Get in Touch



Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: