Friday 27 May 2022
- Advertisement -

7th phase of Lok Sabha elections 2014, 89 seats to be decided

Join Sirf News on


The Indian people, spread across 89 Lok Sabha constituencies across seven states and two Union Territories are deciding who their representatives would be in the next 5 years in the seventh phase of the general elections of 2014.

In the outgoing Lok Sabha, the Indian National Congress (INC) had 37, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 21; the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the Janata Dal (United) [JD(U)] 5 each; the Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)], Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Samajwadi Party (SP) four seats each out of these 89 that are today up for grabs.

Some of the big names that are contesting today are the BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, president Rajnath Singh, its grand old man LK Advani, the Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley, Sanghi ideologue Murli Manohar Joshi, Bollywood music composer Bappi Lahiri, journalist-turned-politician Chandan Mitra, actor George Baker, former Union minister Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav, cricketer-turned-politician Kirti Azad, INC president and chairperson of the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Sonia Gandhi, the party’s 71-year-old leader Ambika Soni, former Punjab chief minister Captain Amarinder Singh, Union Ministers Sriprakash Jaiswal, S Jaipal Reddy, Sarve Satyanarayana, Balram Naik, Bharat Solanki, Dinsha Patel, Tushar Chaudhary, Gujarat’s leader of the opposition Shankersinh Vaghela, JD(U) president Sharad Yadav, Union minister and National Conference chief Farooq Abdullah, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief K Chandrasekhara Rao, Lok Satta Party (LSP) chief N Jayaprakash Narayan, Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) president Asaduddin Owaisi, the TMC’s actor-turned-politician, strongman Sultan Ahmed and Indian soccer player of yesteryears Prasun Banerjee, the or Rashtriya Janata Dal’s Rajesh Ranjan (alias Pappu Yadav) and former Union minister MAA Fatimi.

When polling draws to a close on Wednesday, the fate of 438 Lok Sabha seats will have been decided. The remaining 105 will go to the polls in two phases: 7 and 12 May. Counting will be held on 16 May.

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: