Monday 1 March 2021
- Advertisement -

6 union territories roll out NDHM as pilot projects

- Advertisement -
Biology Health 6 union territories roll out NDHM as pilot projects

The union government today rolled out on a pilot mode the ambitious National Digital Health Mission (NDHM), which Prime Minister Narendra Modi unveiled on Independence Day, in six union territories. Under the scheme, every Indian will get a health ID that will ease access to medical services.

The government has given the mandate to the National Health Authority (NHA), the apex agency responsible for the implementation of Ayushman Bharat Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana (AB-PMJAY), to design, build, roll-out and implement the NDHM in the country.

The NHA said in a statement the government had rolled out the mission through a pilot launch in these six union territories:

  1. Chandigarh
  2. Ladakh
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli & Daman and Diu
  4. Puducherry
  5. Andaman and Nicobar Islands and
  6. Lakshadweep

In his Independence Day address, the prime minister said that under NDHM every Indian citizen would get a health ID which will store an individual’s medical records and the mission would herald a new revolution in the health sector.

“From today, a major campaign is being launched in which technology will play a big role. The National Digital Health Mission is being launched today. This will bring a new revolution in India’s health sector and it will help reduce problems in getting treatment with the help of technology,” Modi said.

The health ID will contain information about medical data, prescriptions and diagnostic reports and summaries of previous discharge from hospitals for ailments. The mission would bring efficiency and transparency in healthcare services in the country.

“The NDHM aims to liberate citizens from the challenges of finding the right doctors, seeking appointment with them, payment of consultation fee, making several rounds of hospitals for prescription sheets and will empower all Indians with the correct information and sources enabling them to take an informed decision to avail the best possible healthcare,” the NHA statement said.

Welcoming the announcement by the prime minister, Union Health Minister Harsh Vardhan said, “Based on the initial learnings in the union territories, we will gradually work in partnership with the states to launch the NDHM. I seek the whole-hearted support, inputs and cooperation of doctors, healthcare facilities, citizens and state governments to adopt this game-changing scheme.”

The NDHM is a holistic, voluntary healthcare programme that will reduce the existing gap between various stakeholders such as doctors, hospitals and other healthcare providers, pharmacies, insurance companies, and citizens by bringing them together and connecting them in an integrated digital health infrastructure, the statement said.

The NDHM comprises six key building blocks or digital systems that will enable access to timely, safe and affordable healthcare through a ‘citizen-centric’ approach, it said.

  1. HealthID
  2. DigiDoctor
  3. Health Facility Registry
  4. Personal Health Records
  5. e-Pharmacy and
  6. Telemedicine
- Advertisement -

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of news stories. Please help us pay them by donating. Click on the button below to contribute.

Sirf News is now Koo-ing. Click on the button below to join our handle (@sirf_news) and stay updated with our posts on the platform that won the Atmanirbhar App Innovation Challenge, 2020

Sirf News is now on Telegram as well. Click on the button below to join our channel (@sirfnewsdotcom) and stay updated with our unique approach to news


- Advertisement -

Related news

- Advertisement -

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: