Friday 27 May 2022
- Advertisement -

18 sectoral groups for smooth roll-out of GST

New Delhi: It was decided in the 14th of the GST Council held on 18-19 May in Srinagar that 18 sectoral groups would be constituted representing various sectors of the economy in order to ensure a smooth roll-out of the goods and services tax (GST). It was finally done today.

These 18 sectoral groups, representing various sectors of the economy, will ensure a smooth implementation of GST by timely responding to the issues and problems of their respective sectors.

These groups have the following mandate. They will interact and examine representations received from trade and industry associations/bodies of their respective sector. They will also highlight specific issues for the smooth transition of the respective sector to the GST regime. And they will prepare sector-specific draft guidances.

These sectoral working groups consist of senior officers from the Centre and the States.

The 18 sectoral groups along with the names of their co-convenors:

S. No. Sector Central government State government


Name & designation Name & designation
1 Banking, Financial & Insurance Upender Gupta, Commissioner, GST Policy Wing, CBEC Dhananjay Akhade, Jt. Commissioner, Maharashtra
2 Telecom Amitabh Kumar, Jt. Secretary (TRU-II), CBEC Mukesh Kumar Meshram, CCT, Uttar Pradesh
3 Exports (including EOUs and SEZs) Tejpal Singh, ADG, DGEP, CBEC Amitabh Jain, Principal Secretary, Chhattisgarh
4. IT & ITes M Vinod Kumar, Chief Commissioner, CBEC Smaraki Mahapatra, CCT, West Bengal
5 Transport & Logistics JM Kennedy, ADG, DRI, CBEC Sujatha Chaturvedi, Pr. Secretary, Bihar
6 Yogendra Garg, Commissioner, CBEC Mona Khandhar, Secretary (EA),
7 MSMEs (incl. job work) Manish Sinha, Commissioner, CBEC & GST Council H Rajesh Prasad, Commissioner, VAT, Delhi
8 Oil & Gas (upstream & downstream) PK Jain, Chief Commissioner, (AR), CBEC Anurag Goel, CCT,
9 Gems & Jewellery Reyaz Ahmad, Director (TRU) PD Vaghela, CCT,
10 Services received and provided by Government DP Nagendra Kumar, Pr. Commissioner, CBEC Arun Mishra, Additional Secretary (CT) Bihar
11 Food Processing Ajay Jain, Chief Commissioner, CBEC Khalid Anwar, Sr Jt CCT, West Bengal
12 E-commerce R Sriram, Commissioner, CBEC Ritvik Pandey, CCT, Karnataka
13 Big Infra (Airport & ports including Maintenance, Repair & Overhaul, Power Sector, Housing and Construction) Sandeep Prakash, Commissioner, CBEC J. Syamala Rao, CCT, Andhra Pradesh
14 Travel & Tourism Sungita Sharma, Pr. Commissioner, CBEC Raghwendra Kumar Singh, CCT, Madhya Pradesh (Indore)
15 Handicrafts Pradeep Goel, Commissioner, CBEC Ms. Sangeetha P. CCT, Chhattisgarh
16 Media & Entertainment M. Srinivas, Commissioner, CBEC Omnarayan Chainsukhji Bhangdiya, Addl. Commissioner, Sales Tax, Maharashtra, Pune
17 Drugs & Pharmaceuticals A.R.S. Kumar, Commissioner, CBEC Dr. M.P. Ravi Prasad, Joint CCT, Karnataka
18 Mining S.N. Singh, Chief, Commissioner, CBEC Praveen Gupta, Secretary (Finance), Rajasthan

The officials of these sectoral groups will deal with the issues and the problems of the respective sectors they represent. Industry groups or associations concerned or even individual industry representatives may approach the respective sectoral group officers with their problems, if any, relating to GST implementation. The latter, in turn, will try to guide and help them in resolving the same. This exercise will help in dealing with most of the sectoral problems and issues at the local or regional level.

sectoral groups
One of the older (7th ) GST Council meetings

The fundamental issue here is whether these bureaucrats have an incentive to push the economy ahead, or they will cynically turn anti-industry, disapproving of constructive suggestions from businessmen. These sanctioning authorities may also turn extortionists.

Jaitley will chair the 16th of the GST Council on Sunday, 11 June at Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi. The ministers of different States and Union Territories (having elected assembly) will attend the one-day meeting. They are members of the council.

The main agenda items of this include confirmation of the minutes of the 15th GST Council held on 3 June, approval of amendments to draft GST rules and rate adjustment, if any, based on the representations received from different trade and industry and their associations. This meeting will be important in the sense that the GST law is going to be rolled-out with effect from 1 July.

Contribute to our cause

Contribute to the nation's cause

Sirf News needs to recruit journalists in large numbers to increase the volume of its reports and articles to at least 100 a day, which will make us mainstream, which is necessary to challenge the anti-India discourse by established media houses. Besides there are monthly liabilities like the subscription fees of news agencies, the cost of a dedicated server, office maintenance, marketing expenses, etc. Donation is our only source of income. Please serve the cause of the nation by donating generously.

Join Sirf News on


Similar Articles


Scan to donate

Swadharma QR Code
Sirf News Facebook Page QR Code
Facebook page of Sirf News: Scan to like and follow

Most Popular

%d bloggers like this: