15 Indian-origin candidates who won in UK election

Fifteen British citizens of Pakistani origin have been declared victorious on their seats in the contest of general election of the United Kingdom, too

While Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s Conservative Party crossed the magical figure of 326 to win a landslide victory in the UK general election, a record total of 15 Indian-origin candidates, contesting for the Conservative and Labour parties, won their respective seats. While three of them are new faces, 12 MPs retained their seats.

All MPs of Indian origin in the previous Parliament successfully retained their seats. Gagan Mohindra and Claire Coutinho for the Conservative Party and Navendu Mishra of the Labour Party became MPs for the first time.

Coutinho who hails from Goa won the Surrey East seat with 35,624 votes. Mahindra won the Hertfordshire South West seat.

Former UK Home Minister Priti Patel was among the Indian-origin MPs returning to the House of Commons with an easy victory. She is likely to find a place in Johnson’s new Cabinet. Patel won the Witham seat in Essex. After the victory, she said, “We are committed to fulfilling the priorities and Brexit is our priority. The agreement is ready and we want to move forward.”

Infosys co-founder Narayana Murthy’s son-in-law Rishi Tsunak and former International Development Minister Alok Sharma won, too.

Shailesh Vara won from North West Cambridgeshire and Goa native Suella Braverman won from Fairham. Braverman, a pro-Brexit MP, thanked the team in his constituency.

The results were disappointing for the opposition Labour Party, but all Indian-origin MPs of the previous Parliament won. Navendu Mishra of the Labour Party won the Scotport seat and will go to Parliament for the first time.

Preet Kaur Gill, who created history by becoming the first British Sikh woman MP in the last election, again won the Birmingham Edgbaston seat.

Tanmanjit Singh Dhesi, the first Sikh MP to wear a turban, will return to the House of Commons.

Senior MP Virender Sharma won the Illing Southall seat by 25,678 votes. Other Indian-origin MPs who retained their seats are Lisa Nandi and Seema Malhotra.

Fifteen British citizens of Pakistani origin have been declared victorious on their seats in the contest of general election of the United Kingdom, too.

Leave a Reply

Stay on top - Get daily news in your email inbox

Sirf Views

Muslims Are Threatening Hindus With Impunity: Here’s Why

Why are Hindus considered kafirs by Muslims and heathens and pagans by Christians? Why do they sit in judgment on our culture and practices?

Trump Not Telling The Truth About India-US Trade

A protectionist US President Donald Trump raises even such issues that have been resolved; thankfully, the India does not buy his antics

Sonbhadra Gold To Benefit Indian Economy In 5 Ways

Although we are not in the era of the gold standard, the enormous deposit of the yellow metal in Sonbhadra will improve the Indian economy

Hindu They All Claim To Be; Policy Tells Who Really Is

BJP will not merely claim to be Hindu; it will bring CAA, NRC; let debutant, me-too Hindu parties beat it with UCC & population control bill

Tapas Pal, A Death No One Would Genuinely Condole

In 1980, after Bengali film superstar Uttam Kumar died, Dadar Kirti of Tarun Majumdar was released after Durga Puja. The voice...

More from the author

For fearless journalism

%d bloggers like this: